After waiting 45 days, Ben and I left for Memphis @ 7:30 pm on Thursday night. After a bumpy 2 1/2 hours (literally, I-40 was very bumpy), we made it to our hotel. I'm glad that I made a reservation because the hotel was out of rooms. We slept decently and woke up @ 7:00 am to get ready for our fingerprint appointment at 8:00 am. You can see a short video here from our drive into USCIS.

I've spent quite a few hours reading about others' experience with USCIS. So I really was prepared for anything. First, we arrived late. This should not surprise anyone as we are never on time for anything, church included. We were the 2nd family/group there. The first group (I'm not really sure if they were a family) were from a Latin American country and I'm guessing they were renewing their U.S. visas. They were frustrated about the experience. I'm not sure what was going on but I sure didn't want to share their fingerprinting experience.

Ben and I filled out our forms, turned them into the box with our passports, and took a seat. Less than 5 minutes later, I was called to the fingerprinting room. The clerk was very nice, asked me a few questions while she took my fingerprints, and we chatted about the differences between men and women. She was very pleasant and quick. Ben went next and we were out by 8:30.

I was disappointed with my USCIS experience. I really expected there to be a wait with lots of immigrants and perhaps some stubborn clerks. Instead, everyone was very professional and pleasant. We were in and out in about 20 minutes. I don't know if it was b/c we were one of the first groups or b/c I was expecting the worst but hoping for the best. Whatever the reason, Ben and I had a great fingerprinting experience with the Memphis USCIS field office.
Ally
3/30/2011 04:54:51 am

I found your blog online ! Under a google search for HOUSE OF GRACE ..Congrats ! If you have any questions please email me I would be happy to help. We just adopted a little girl in Oct of 2010....from Yangchun and House of Grace. We traveled Oct and Nov of 2010 to get our baby ! email me at [email protected]

Reply
ally
3/30/2011 05:10:58 am

Check out blessedkids.com ...you can send a carepack to China !

Reply



Leave a Reply.